A Genealogy Type of Sunday Afternoon

So I woke up really early this morning (before 6 am) with genealogy on my mind.  Seriously.  I know weird right?

Well I have a lot of started genealogy social media thing going on.  I was trying to decided how to much them or something.  Bring them together some how.  I have 3 genealogy blogs, a Pintrest, Instagram, & Twitter account, and 3 genealogy websites that I have started.  They are similar but different.

So I have a 365 Days of Genealogy blog & website (https://sites.google.com/site/365daysofgenealogy/), a Giant Genealogy Project blog & website (https://sites.google.com/site/giantgenealogyproject/) and a website for my genealogy binder (https://sites.google.com/site/genbinders/) .  I honestly have gotten off track with keeping them up.  The Blogging 101 course has made me think and is motivating me to get back on track. 

So I got thinking about my Giant Genealogy Project site.  I started that to help everyone with their genealogy research.  To put individuals in touch with others who might have information on the ancestors they are looking for.  It has not received any interest.  But I have 5 copies of this magazine called Everton’s Genealogy Helper.  It was a REALLY great magazine!!! 

everton cover

They covered so many topics. And so many ways to help.  They had this section called “Bureau of Missing Ancestors.” Where anyone could fill out a form and send it in.  You would basically say who you were looking for and what information you did have.  They would then print it in their magazine with your contact information.  Then hopefully someone would contact you with information. 

everton page

I really wanted my Giant Genealogy Project website to be like that.  So with all this motivation I am going to go through the 5 magazines I have and contact those listed in them.  See if their information is still good and see if they are still looking for their ancestors.  I plan to add the information to my webpage.

I want to TRY and post to all my blogs everyday.  I do have a couple of none genealogy blogs as well. 

Leave a Reply

